Summer Reading activities are not just for kids at the library.
Beginning June 11 and continuing each Monday through Aug. 27, the library will offer the Libraries Rock! Concert Series, 5-7 p.m., in the mini-amphitheater on the McEuen Park side of the building. In case of bad weather, the concerts will move into the library or to the park pavilion.
The free concert series is being funded through a grant from the Coeur d’Alene Public Library Foundation.
Families are invited to pack a picnic basket and enjoy concerts featuring local talent on these dates:
► June 11: Dr. Phil and the Enablers – Rhythm and blues.
► June 18: Gary Edwards – Folk and Americana.
► June 25: Muckle Roe – Scandinavian roots music.
► July 2: Four Peace – ’60s classics and more.
► July 9: Coeurimba – African marimba music.
► July 16: Living Well – Mix of folk, pop, blues.
► July 23: Rusty Jackson – country, classic rock, original songs.
► July 30: Arvid Lundin & Deep Roots – Celtic, folk, original songs.
► Aug. 6: Spring Tonic – blue grass, old-time.
► Aug. 13: Bill Bozly – Many genres of American popular music.
► Aug. 20: Kathy Colton – Folk, pop, original songs.
► Aug. 27: Coeur d’Alene Chamber Music Society – Three groups: Cd’A Brass Quintet, Gluteous Saximous, and the North Idaho Tumpet Ensemble.


Lake City Public Library (LCPL) – which normally operates from the high school on Ramsey Road – will have a new home for the summer at a nearby elementary school.
The Lake City Branch will be closed June 11-14 and will reopen in the library at Skyway Elementary, 6621 N. Courcelles Pkwy., on June 18. The new location is only a few blocks from Lake City High School. From Ramsey Road go west on Hanley Avenue and north Courcelles after the roundabout.
The move was necessary, due to maintenance work at the high school.
Summer hours for the branch will be 12-5 p.m., Monday through Thursday. LCPL will have two summer programs on Tuesdays, Storytime with a Snack at 12 p.m., and LEGO Club 4-5 p.m. Chess Club will not continue through the summer.
Teens and children who are participating in Summer Reading can pick up and drop off Reading Logs at the branch and can also pick up prizes there.
LCPL is a joint project of the Coeur d’Alene Public Library and the Coeur d’Alene School District. JD Smithson, a library employee, is the branch manager.
The branch was opened in January 2016.
LCPL has its own book collection and makes use of the school computers for Internet access. The school’s Internet access is modified during the hours the public library operates to allow access to social media and other sites not available during the school day.
Library patrons can designate LCPL as a pickup site for books and other items placed on hold throughout the Cooperative Information Network catalog.

Patrons who need accommodation to participate in library programs or services are asked to contact the staff prior to the activity by calling 208-769-2315 or by email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Name of library contest changed to honor former director

The winners of the 2018 Writers Competition at the Coeur d’Alene Public Library were recognized Saturday in a ceremony that also saw a name change for the 29-year-old contest to honor a former library director, the competition’s founder.
At its April meeting, the Library Board of Trustees requested that the name be changed to the Julie Meier Writers Competition.
Serving as library director from 1981 to 2004, Meier created the Writers Competition in 1989 to reward writing excellence, to encourage area residents – especially children – to writes, and, in her words, “to discover talented writers in our midst.”
Julie Meir passed away this year on April 12.
Cash prizes for Writers Competition were originally funded by Hecla Mining. In recent years prizes have been funded by grants from the Coeur d’Alene Kiwanis Club and the Friends of the Coeur d’Alene Public Library.
All entries in the competition are placed in professionally bound books that are added to the library’s collection as non-circulating items. The collection of bound entries going back to 1989 can be found in the library’s Nelson History Room.
For 2018 the competition underwent two major changes. The fee to enter the competition was eliminated and the age groups were changed to reflect school grade levels for non-adult competitors.
The winners for 2018 in the Julie Meier Writers Competition and their entries are:
► Grades K-2 Fiction/Nonfiction: First, Mikayla Moore, Athol , “Animal World: Big Cats;” Second    Maren Larson, Coeur d’Alene, “The Moon;” and Third, Aubrey Keinert, Priest River, “Bunny and the Bear.”
► Grades 3-5 Nonfiction: First, Trent Roberts, Spirit Lake, “A Different Kind of Christmas;” Second, Alexander Beresford-Wood, Post Falls, “My Essay on the Best Dad on Earth;” and Third, Gabrielle Hill, Coeur d’Alene, “Pocahontas’ Impact on American History.”
► Grades 6-8 Nonfiction: First, Jane Robinette, Otis Orchards, Wash., “The Wonderful World of Books;” Second, Samantha Hayes, Post Falls, “Careless Consumptions;” and Third, Sophie Nungesser, Post Falls, “Should There be Tougher Punishments for Bullying?”
► Grades 9-12 Nonfiction: First, Isaiah Harrison, Coeur d’Alene, “The Pain Game;” Second, Isaac Harrison, Coeur d’Alene, “The Dark and Silent Place;” Third, Peyton Jerome, Coeur d’Alene, “PTSD in the Ancient World.”
► Adult Nonfiction: First, Victoria Collins, Coeur d’Alene, “When Time Stands Still;” Second , Brenda Bergelin, Coeur d’Alene, “At Fifty-Four;” Third, Sherry Groeschl, Coeur d’Alene, “One Call Away.”
► Grades 3-5 Fiction: First, Zachery Linford, Coeur d’Alene, “Am I a Turtle or a Tortoise?” Third, Verity Zichek, and Hauser, “Cemetery Sojourn;” Second, Alyssa Harrison, Coeur d’Alene, “The Tale of Louis and the Moonlight.”
► Grades 6-8 Fiction: First, Lillian Syren, Coeur d’Alene, “Refuge in the Wilderness;” Second, Emma Crownhart, Liberty Lake, Wash., “The Princes’ Game;” Third, Mercedesz Juhasz, Post Falls, “Euphoria.”
► Grades 9-12 Fiction:  First, Lyssa Bivens, Spirit Lake, “Rainbow Trout;” Second, Jessica Gates, Hayden, “Sirens of War;” Third, Samuel Cuentas, Post Falls, “A Moment Before Chaos.”
► Adult Fiction: First, Rebecca Crouse, Rathdrum, “Her Footsteps Linger;” Second, Angela Gates, Hayden, “Snow Falling White;” Third, Kevin Zirker, Post Falls, “Postical.”